Peacekeeping: February 21, 2004


: Uganda, Djibouti, Kenya, Rwanda and Somalia have offered troops to the Eastern African Standby Brigade (EASBRIG), soon to be formed as part of the African Standby Force (ASF). Eritrea, Ethiopia, Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles and the Comoros are also expected to contribute troops. The ASF will comprise of four regional brigades, each with 4,020 combatants each. Kenya would host the planning headquarters for the force but the standby troops would be assembled and deployed as soon as need arose.

The seven day long closed meeting of chiefs of defense staff and Experts (chaired by the Ugandan army commander) did not disclose specific troop quotas. However, they did formulate the EASBRIG policy framework and agree that the region's defense ministers will meet in April at the AU's Addis Ababa headquarters to finalize the plan. - Adam Geibel

THE AFRICAN STANDBY FORCE: Progress and prospects, online at 


Article Archive

Peacekeeping: Current 2021 2020 2019 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 



Help Keep Us Soaring

We need your help! Our subscription base has slowly been dwindling. We need your help in reversing that trend. We would like to add 20 new subscribers this month.

Each month we count on your subscriptions or contributions. You can support us in the following ways:

  1. Make sure you spread the word about us. Two ways to do that are to like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.
  2. Subscribe to our daily newsletter. We’ll send the news to your email box, and you don’t have to come to the site unless you want to read columns or see photos.
  3. You can contribute to the health of StrategyPage. A contribution is not a donation that you can deduct at tax time, but a form of crowdfunding. We store none of your information when you contribute..
Subscribe   Contribute   Close